Listen: Boy Toy Mixtape Vol. 12

Screen Shot 2015-10-08 at 12.17.15 PMI miss all the things about youWhen you’re dreaming of an outlet
Take me with you when you trip next
It’s so beautiful to see you
When no one’s watching

The twelfth volume of the Boy Toy Mixtape is perhaps the most eclectic to date. To start it off, we have Honduran-American singer Empress Of opening up the floodgates with “Water Water,” the first single from her new album, Me, recorded entirely in Mexico City. Empress Of has opened up for Florence + the Machine and Jamie xx, and she’s recently become one of our favorites.

How do you follow a near-perfect song? Disclosure and Lorde might have an idea with their new single “Magnets,” a slinky L.A.-influenced pop song (watch the mysterious video below). Then it’s time for female rappers to make a triumphant return to the Boy Toy Mixtape. First with the thoughtfully sincere “Gratitude” by Little Simz, a rapper who patron saint Kendrick Lamar once called “one of the realest doing it.” Later on we have Tink getting cleverly bratty on “Wet Dollars,” and making us miss Kid Sister and Rye Rye.

Pop fans will drool all over Ellie Goulding‘s new single, “On My Mind,” and then start dancing slowly to Lana Del Rey‘s “Freak,” the best song off her new album, Honeymoon.

The Boy Toy Mixtape’s eccentric lineup also includes the jubilant, Elton John-approved BØRNS, hypnotic duo ZHU and AlunaGeorge, and soft, sad songs by Wet, Lower Dens and Chromatics.

Listen to the Boy Toy Mixtape below and click here to check out previous volumes

Streaming music subscribers can listen to the mixtape on Spotify and on Apple Music

Oscar Raymundo
Author posts

Leave a Reply